BIC principals named ASPA Administrators of the Year

Dr. Kima Stewart reacts to the news that she has been named ASPA’s Administrator of the Year. She and Mr. Randy Rose were informed of their win by the journalism staff this afternoon.

Dr. Kima Stewart and Mr. Randy Rose have been named Administrators of the Year by the Arkansas Scholastic Press Association, according to ASPA director Allen Loibner.

Loibner informed journalism adviser Tracey Yates of the award today by phone. Yates and the journalism staff nominated Rose and Stewart for the honor on March 1.

“I was thrilled to hear that Mr. Rose and Dr. Stewart have received this prestigious honor,” said Yates. “Being recognized by ASPA is reserved for administrators who help advance the cause of scholastic journalism, and both of them have helped our program grow these past few years.”

In order to be considered for the title, administrators have to be nominated by a journalism adviser and sent in to Loibner by the March 1 deadline. Once received by Loibner, entries are passed along to a judge that determines the most deserving applicant to receive the award.

Yates and the staff prepared a nomination packet that included a statement from Yates detailing the support that Stewart and Rose have given to the staff and statements from members of the staff about the two principals.

“It was difficult to explain in a one page statement how important they have been to the development of our program,” said Yates.

Stewart and Rose will both be recognized at the ASPA convention banquet in Rogers on April 15. Dr. Stewart serves as both BIC West Elementary principal and director of elementary education. Mr. Rose is the high school principal.